Introducing … 500 photos

I don’t tend to come home with armfuls of souvenirs from my travels.  What I do return with is memory cards full of photos.  I take a lot of photos when I travel, and I always come away wishing that I had taken more.

I am so impressed at the quality of some of the travel photography that I have seen on other blogs.  I have always been very much a point and click girl, but I really want to learn more and improve my photography.  I am now the proud owner of a DSLR, and weekends are given over to getting out and about with my new camera to practice, practice, practice.

What I have learned so far is that there is an awful lot to learn.  I’m not in a hurry though and I’m going to take my time, get to know my new camera and hopefully see an evolution in my photography along the way.

To help me track this I am launching a new page on my blog dedicated to photography.  I will share some of my favourite photos from my home and my travels, including pictures from past travels and future adventures with my DSLR.  The aim is to put up a new photo every Wednesday, with minimal words – the idea is to let my photos do the talking for me.

So to kick it all off, I am going right back to my first digital camera, a Nikon Coolpix.  I can’t claim that this is the first picture I took with the camera, but it is the first picture that I took at the beginning of my first, and to date only, round the world trip.  It may not be the most accomplished photo that anyone has ever taken, but I remember standing in the stairwell of the hotel on tiptoes to get a view out of the window, and then zooming in as far as I could to get a shot of Wembley stadium.

DSCN0179

 

I really wish that I could have had a view without the tree cutting the stadium in half!  Even so, just looking at it brings back memories of the mix of fear and excitement that I felt preparing to embark upon my travels, as taking this photo was one of the last things I did before leaving for Heathrow Airport to begin the adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

