500 photos – feeling festive in August

Christmas is one of my favourite times of the year, and with December just a couple of days away I’m definitely starting to feel the festive spirit.

I have never travelled over Christmas before, and to be honest I wouldn’t really want to.  More than any other time of the year, for me Christmas is all about home and family, and there is nowhere else I would rather be.

However, I don’t have to be at home to feel the Christmas spirit.  Jim & I travelled in New Zealand and Australia during their winter months.  The further north we travelled, the warmer it became, but in Auckland and Melbourne in particular, it was quite cold and the days were short.

Melbourne may only extremely rarely (if ever) experience this kind of weather…

P1090033

…but the nip in the air, the nights drawing in and wandering around after dark with everything lit up definitely left Jim & I feeling like it should be Christmas in the middle of August.

DSCN0569

Leave a Reply

