2013: A rollercoaster year

On New Year’s Eve 2012 I said to Jim that I could not see anything to look forward to in 2013.  It has been a real rollercoaster of a year – it has been far worse and far better than I ever expected.

At the beginning of the year, we lost my beloved Granny.  By the end of the year, I had also lost my home and my job.  I’m now living in a much better house and have a job that is a much better fit for me, but each of those things was hard to deal with at the time.

The hard times this year are probably one of the motivators for me to re-prioritise travel – it is a way of leaving real life totally behind.  Travel has always been important to me – 2008 was the last time that I did not have any kind of a holiday.  However, this year, with starting this blog I have put travelling back on the top of my priority list.  I don’t plan to leave everything behind and set off with a backpack indefinitely, but now and in the future, I want to get away as much as I possibly can.

SAM_0247

On the positive side of things, Jim & I finally completed part 1 of our long held ambition to tour round Italy by visiting Rome, Pompeii and the Amalfi coast.

SAM_0337

We also discovered a real gem in Belgium.

20130803_222820

Bruges has long been a travel ambition of mine, but I had not realised that the rest of Belgium would be every bit as wonderful as Bruges.

20130807_213503

We rounded off the year with a fabulous weekend in Edinburgh, and seeing The Lion King on stage is one of the high points of the whole year.

DSC_0711

 

This year has taught me that the foundations upon which we build our lives are not solid, but are based in sand which can shift and change in an instant, often for reasons totally beyond our control.  As 2013 draws to a close, I would like to say that I am looking forward to 2014 with more optimism, but that would be a lie.  However, it would also be a lie to say that I feel as pessimistic as I did in 2012.  In 2014, I will just live each day as it comes, enjoy it as much as I can, and be grateful for what I have.

3 responses to “2013: A rollercoaster year

  1. 2013 was also a year of many tumultuous changes. I unfortunately, did not get the chance to do any traveling last year, but I plan on making up for it in triplicate this year.

Leave a Reply

