Why I am not in Spain right now

Sometimes, I can’t be bothered to travel.

That may possibly be the number one sentence that is never and should never be uttered by a travel blogger, but it is true.  Sometimes the idea of travelling can seem like hard work and hassle.

I have written about how important travel is to relax and have a break from the routine.  Working a 9-5 job is mentally exhausting at times, and it makes each hard earned day off precious.  My natural instinct is to make each day off count by making sure that I am doing something with it.  However, the idea of doing nothing can be very tempting at times.

My planning for my next week of annual leave initially involved the idea of doing nothing.  It has been ages since Jim and I have had a lazy beach holiday, and so I spent hours pouring over various package holiday and independent options to take us to a hot beach destination where we could do nothing but eat, sleep and relax.

Ibiza, 2011 - our last lazy beach holiday

Ibiza, 2011 – our last lazy beach holiday

I eventually settled on Nerja in the Costa del Sol as the destination of choice, and got right up to the point of booking it.  But something was holding me back from actually committing to this holiday.  As much as I thought I was planning a holiday involving nothing but lying on the beach, the travel planning part of my brain could not switch off and kept coming up with more and more plans about what there was to do in Nerja and the surrounding area.  With only the most minimal research about Nerja, I had already some up with plans for 3 of the 5 days I would have there, and I quickly realised it was not going to be the lazy beach holiday I had imagined.  I’m not sure if I am actually capable of planning that type of holiday.

Carabeo beach (7007970949)

By michael clarke stuff (Carabeo beach Uploaded by russavia) [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

So if I wasn’t going to be doing nothing, did I really want to go to Spain?  I have never seen myself as a Costa Del Sol person, but I am totally sold on the idea of visiting Nerja now, especially given it’s proximity to Granada.  However, I couldn’t muster up any enthusiasm for an early morning flight, sorting out transfers from the airport and trying to decide between staying in closer proximity to the bus station or the beach.  I don’t want to travel just for the sake of travelling and from a budget point of view, it did not make much sense to head out on a second foreign holiday of the year before I have finalised arrangements for my summer trip.  I actually do just want to relax with my week off, and on this occasion it means staying closer to home.

That does not mean that I am not travelling.  My travelling will just be a little closer to my own doorstep.  I am visiting 3 fantastic parts of the country which are within easy reach of my home region – the Lake District, the Scottish Borders and North Yorkshire.

Derwentwater, 2012 - this is my last trip to the Lake District and I made the stupid mistake of forgetting my camera charger.  I will make up for my lack of photos this time around!

Derwentwater, 2012 – this is my last trip to the Lake District and I made the stupid mistake of forgetting my camera charger. I will make up for my lack of photos this time around!

I have total freedom as to how to approach these mini-breaks – they are all within 2 hours drive from home, so I can do day trips or stay as many nights as I please.  I will also be taking some day trips to places within the North East that I have never been and returning to some old favourites.  I will be eating in restaurants that I have always wanted to try, and spending time in the great outdoors.

It’s not that warm and it’s not that sunny.  I am not lazing on the beach catching the sun (or in my case hiding my pale skin from it), or swimming in the sea.  I will probably have a more action planned week than I would have had in Spain, but in a funny way I think it will be more relaxing, as I will have my own bed and my own space to come home to at night, or not if I choose otherwise.

I have a huge bucket list of places that I want to visit, which gets longer rather than shorter.  There is a part of me that feels a little guilty about not taking the opportunity to travel abroad.  However, travel is not just about far flung destinations and foreign countries – there is plenty to see and do on my doorstep which passes me by as the majority of my time is spent in work.  It feels right to be taking this week for low key local travel.

4 responses to “Why I am not in Spain right now

  1. I think this sounds perfect. I had a similar conversation with myself towards the end of last year – we opted for a weekend camping trip nearby. No rush and no hassle – now that is a holiday.

    You have to ask yourself why you’re going and if it’s out of habit – stop!

  2. Pingback: A Perfect Bank Holiday at Hallington Reservoir | 500adventures·

    • Hi, thanks! I’m glad you’ve been enjoying my blog! I think travelling is all about escape, at least for those of us who don’t travel full time. There is nothing like waking up in a new place to blow away the cobwebs and feel refreshed!

Leave a Reply

